Thursday, December 24, 2009

Flawed to Perfection

It 's true that Flaws = Perfection. Have you ever sat down to draw something and then fuss about it not being perfect? Ok then, just me. But really, the truth is that when you look at everything around you...nothing is perfect and so therefore, it IS perfect. Weird huh? I bring this up mainly because I'm going to talk about the war between my face and my facial hair. The longer my facial hair gets the more white trash I look. Gross, uneven and downright unmanly. I know this and I have accepted it. Its just sad because I would never survive in a end of the world scenario. We've all seen the movies where the hero is alone in the world and so he has to grow the manliest beard imaginable. Like the kind that scare away bears. For me it would be the police officer stopping me and saying, "Son if you tell me some info I think we can get you back to your parents." I have some good facial hair, my eyelashes are beautiful, and they really accentuate my eyes. Girls have told me this, LOTS of them. They say, "My, what amazing eyelashes you have, but why is there a caterpillar crawling across your face," (talking about my horrific cro-magnum uni-brow). My eyebrows can get so long that my eyelashes will get caught in them. I only let them get that long for the sake of science. To finish that off I just want to go back to the imperfection/perfection thing. I am imperfect therefore I am perfect, (laughing while I write it).

After 24 years of life I have not figured out that its smarter to just go pee instead of dancing around until I can't hold it anymore. I think men in general do it. But the other day I was Christmas shopping and I could not make it to the bathroom if I wanted to. Every time I tried to go, something stopped me. Ran into an old friend, saw a sale I could not pass up or forgot what I was doing by the time I got there. Yes my wife picked a winner.

Ok I was gonna be done but I have to comment about relatives. Maybe its just me but some relatives are just....rude. My father in law's brother came to the house the other day. He gave a single knock and then without waiting, came in. No phone call, just came in. I was napping on the couch and was like half asleep. He picked up the remote and changed it to sports. My father in-law, who had just gone to bed after working a night shift came out because it would be rude of him not to talk to his brother. This relative then went to the fridge and took out two sodas and drank them. Now this was awkward, the whole thing I mean. He fell asleep after that. Now really picture this, he falls asleep in the elbow of the couch, a 350 pound individual spread eagle, legs up on either side of him and sawing logs so loud that he was rattling the windows. And here is my wife, my father in-law and I just staring at him, thinking that soon he will wake up and be like, "Oh sorry, I must have dozed off." Yeah, that never happened.

Anyways Its getting close so if I don't say it another time, Merry Christmas.

1 comment:

  1. I remember battling that eyebrow a time or two. I think I remember you telling me that you actually cut your eyelashes shorter so that they woudn't hit your eyebrows. I was horrified.

    ReplyDelete